The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is an intergovernmental agency which operates within the framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). NEA membership consists of 33 countries representing 82% of the world’s installed nuclear electricity generating capacity. The mission of the NEA is to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally sound and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. It strives to provide authoritative assessments and to forge common understandings on key issues as input to government decisions on nuclear energy policy and to broader OECD analyses in areas such as energy and the sustainable development of low carbon economies. The information, data and analyses it provides draw on one of the best international networks of technical experts.